Overseas Students Association

 Forgot Password?
 Join For Free

NLC confirms 25 public universities start charging SSAF for International Students in 2013

2012-10-8 00:00| Publisher: campus| Views: 1826| Comments: 0|Author: NLC National Office

Summary: NLC confirms 25 universities charging SSAF for International Students in 2013
National Liaison Committee for International Students (NLC), the national peak body for International Students, has confirmed with all universities on SSAF (Student Services and Amenities Fee) charges for International Students in 2013.

On 11 October 2011, the Australian Parliament passed legislation allowing universities and other higher education providers to charge a fee for student services and amenities of a non-academic nature. Higher education providers can charge students a fee of up to $263 per student in 2012. This maximum will be indexed each year using the Higher Education Grants Index.

On 7 December 2011, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs and Workplace Relations Chris EVANS, made the Student Services, Amenities, Representation and Advocacy Guidelines for the purposes of the Higher Education Support Act 2003.

The Representation Guidelines had included the following clauses:

3.2.3 A HEP must provide enrolled students with the opportunity to participate in a process to democratically elect student representatives. 
(a) Student representatives must be students enrolled at the relevant HEP. Representatives must be elected by students, with at least one representative elected from each of the following categories:
a. students enrolled in an *undergraduate course of study;
b. students enrolled in a *postgraduate course of study; and
c. *overseas students*.

3.2.5 HEPs must have a formal process of consultation with democratically elected student representatives and representatives from major student organisations at the HEP regarding the specific uses of proceeds from any compulsory student services and amenities fee charged under section 19-38 of the Act.
By the end of September 2012, NLC has confirmed with the university management of all 39 public universities on SSAF charge for International Students through our two rounds of OSAudit Review.

NLC's position is made clear:
1. ensure democratic international student representation by independent and autonomous Overseas Students Association (OSA) campus operations.
2. 100% of the fees collected from International Students should be used for international student support services and the use of the funding must be fully consulted with OSA campus operations.

Here is the list of 25 public universities which have decided to charge SSAF to International Students in 2013:
-    The University of Sydney (NSW) 
-    University of Western Sydney (NSW) 
-    The University of Newcastle (NSW)
-    University of Wollongong (NSW)   
-    Charles Sturt University (NSW)   
-    University of New England (NSW)    
-    The University of Melbourne (VIC)
-    Monash University (VIC) Bond University 
-    RMIT University (VIC) CQU University 
-    Griffiths University (QLD)
-    Bond University (QLD)
-    Central Queensland University (QLD)
-    University of Southern Queensland (QLD)
-    University of Sunshine Coast (QLD)
-    James Cook University (QLD)
-    The University of Western Australia (WA)
-    Murdoch University (WA)
-    Edith Cowan University (WA) 
-    The University of Adelaide (SA)
-    Flinders University (SA)
-    The Australian National University (ACT)
-    University of Canberra (ACT)
-    University of Tasmania (TAS)
-    Charles Darwin University (NT)
-    AustralianCatholicUniversity (National)

On campus level, NLC will continuously support our independent and autonomous OSA operations to provide international student support services and ensure democratic international student representation. 

Online Report|Online Help|OSA

GMT+8, 2019-10-17 19:43 , Processed in 0.079213 second(s), 15 queries .

OSA Online: osa.student.org.au
©1985-2013 Overseas Students Association